Roll it Back with Revision History

Bek Agius — 16th January 2018

Welcome to the era of mistakes that don't matter. 

In the land of Marketing Automation, our ultimate goal is to create an environment where experts of diverse expertise can work together to create material in a way that doesn't sacrifice brand integrity.

Screen Shot 2018-01-12 at 8.28.37 am.png

Two major problems that opening up this can of collaborative worms creates, is a much higher likelihood of human error in content and conflicts born of users overwriting one another's content. 

In the past, we have wrestled with iteration upon iteration of safeguard features to both protect the content and not disrupt the fundamental user experience. All of this trial and error has landed us at the Revision History feature in its current form.

Here's the scenerio:

Within an organisation, User A is a Marketing Coordinator (lets call him Tom) and he works in the marketing department alongside User B (let's call her Jill) who is a content expert. 

Tom creates a project, selects the Template he wants to use for his document and edits the aesthetic elements (changes out images, picks a theme and so on) and gives the document a killer headline before saving. 

Jan-11-2018 16-19-07.gif

Jill comes along and jumps in to add her expert content to Tom's document and, overcome with inspiration, creates her own Headline, therefore overwriting Tom's edits and saves. 

Tom is livid - and in the past, he'd have had good reason to be. 

Jan-11-2018 16-25-04.gif

Instead, Tom can open the document, have an in-depth look into which changes Jill made and choose either his full original document and roll back over ALL of her changes or he can pick and choose between the inputs that Jill edited and only roll back over the changes she made to his Headline, while keeping her body content.

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 4.30.36 pm.png

Even after this, all previously saved versions still exist - Tom has just created a new iteration of the document - in this case, a social media post. 

The Revision History feature is highly powerful for collaborative teams in Outfit and can be accessed from both the document thumbnail view in the Project screen and within the editing screen. This means that users can access previously saved versions even while deep in the zone of editing a document. 

Tell us your thoughts on this great feature improvement!

Or to take this feature for a spin, click the button below.

Share this post

Latest Posts

Ensuring your franchise network is on board

Running a marketing team and strategy for a franchise requires extensive marketing knowledge, an ability to negotiate complex deliverables with diverse stakeholders and strong budget mastery.

Read more

Request a demo